Remotely ring, lock, or erase a lost device

android_vectorIf you or a friend has lost a device, you can use Android Device Manager to remotely ring, lock, or erase the device if it’s signed in to a Google Account. When Android Device Manager interacts with the device, it’ll get a notification. You can also use Android Device Manager to show your device’s location.

Important: Android Device Manager won’t work for devices that are turned off or that don’t have a Wi-Fi connection or mobile data connection with an active SIM card.Use the Android Device Manager website

Before erasing your device: Remotely erasing a device performs a factory reset, which removes all data from the device. While any data stored in your Google Account will be restored, all apps and their associated data will be uninstalled.

  1. Sign in to your Google Account on android.com/devicemanager. If you’re helping a friend with their lost device, we recommend opening an incognito tab in Chrome and having them sign in to the Google Account they use on their mobile device.
  2. Click the arrow next to the device name to select the lost device. Android Device Manager will show the location of that device.
  3. Select from the following options. You may need to enable Lock & Erase first.
    • Ring: Rings your device at full volume for 5 minutes — even if it’s set to silent or vibrate.
    • Lock: Locks your device with a password if you don’t already have one set.
    • Erase: Permanently deletes all of your data. Android Device Manager may not be able to wipe the content of an SD card in the device. After you erase the device, Android Device Manager will no longer work on it.
  4. If you’re helping a friend, they can sign out when they’re finished by touching Sign out at the top of the screen. If they don’t sign out, they’ll be automatically signed out after 5 minutes of inactivity on the website.

If you have another mobile device or are using a friend’s device, you can use the Android Device Manager app to remotely ring, lock, or erase the lost device. You need to have the Android Device Manager app installed on the device you plan to use.

Before erasing your device: Remotely erasing a device performs a factory reset, which removes all data from the device. While any data stored in your Google Account will be restored, all apps and their associated data will be uninstalled.

  1. On the device, open the Android Device Manager app .
  2. Sign in to your Google Account or if you’re helping a friend, touch Device Manager at the top of the screen and touch Guest to have your friend sign in to the Google Account they use on their mobile device.
  3. Click the arrow next to the device name to select the lost device. Android Device Manager will show the location of that device.
  4. Select from the following options. You may need to enable Lock & Erase first.
    • Ring: Rings your device at full volume for 5 minutes — even if it’s set to silent or vibrate.
    • Lock: Locks your device with a password if you don’t already have one set.
    • Erase: Permanently deletes all of the data on the device. Android Device Manager may not be able to wipe the content of an SD card in the device. After you erase the device, Android Device Manager will no longer work on it.
  5. If you’re helping a friend, they can sign out when they’re finished by touching Sign out at the top of the screen. If they don’t sign out, they’ll be automatically signed out after 5 minutes of inactivity in the app.

Add a phone number to your lost device’s lock screen

If you’ve lost a device, you can use Android Device Manager to let anyone who finds your device call you at a different number directly from the lock screen.

  1. Sign in to your Google Account on android.com/devicemanager.
  2. If you have more than one device, use the arrow next to the device name to choose the lost device.
  3. Select Lock.
  4. In the “Phone number (optional)” field, type in a phone number where you can be reached.
  5. Select Lock. A button to call the number you entered will be displayed on the phone’s lock screen. Anyone who finds your phone will be able to dial the number from the device.

To remove the phone number, just follow the steps above and delete the number in the phone number field.

giant-apple-logo-bw

If your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch is lost or stolen

If you lose your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch or think it might be stolen, these steps might help you find it and protect your data.

 If Find My iPhone is turned on, you can use it to find your device

 If Find My iPhone isn’t on, change your passwords and report the device as missing

If Find My iPhone is enabled on your missing device

You can use Find My iPhone to find your device and take additional actions that can help you recover it and keep your data safe.

  1. Sign in to icloud.com/find on a Mac or PC, or use the Find My iPhone app on another iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch.
  2. Find your device. Open Find My iPhone, and select a device to view its location on a map. If the device is nearby, you can have it play a sound to help you or someone nearby find it.
  3. Turn on Lost Mode. Using Lost Mode, you can remotely lock your device with a four-digit passcode, display a custom message with your phone number on your missing device’s Lock screen, and keep track of your device’s location. If you added credit or debit cards to Apple Pay, the ability to make payments using Apple Pay on the device will be suspended when you put your device in Lost Mode.
  4. Report your lost or stolen device to local law enforcement. Law enforcement might request the serial number of your device. Find your serial number:
    • On the original box or receipt
    • On My Support Profile (supportprofile.apple.com) if you registered your device with your Apple ID
  5. Erase your device. To prevent anyone else from accessing the data on your missing device, you can erase it remotely. When you erase your device, all of your information (including credit or debit cards for Apple Pay) will be deleted from the device, and you won’t be able to find it using Find My iPhone. After you erase a device, you can’t track it. If you remove the device from your account after you erase it, Activation Lock will be turned off. This allows another person to activate and use your device.

If you use Family Sharing, any family member can help locate another member’s missing device. Just have your family member sign in to iCloud with their Apple ID, and you can find any device associated with that Family Sharing account.

What if your iOS device is off or offline?

If your missing device is off or offline, you can still put it in Lost Modelock it, or remotely erase it. The next time your device is online, these actions will take effect. If you remove the device from your account while it’s offline, any pending actions for the device will be cancelled.

How do you turn off or cancel Lost Mode?

You can turn off Lost Mode by entering the passcode on your device. You can also turn off Lost Mode on iCloud.com or from the Find My iPhone app.

If Find My iPhone isn’t enabled on your missing device

If you didn’t turn on Find My iPhone before your device was lost or stolen, you can’t use it to locate your device. However, you can use these steps to help protect your data:

  1. Change your Apple ID password. By changing your Apple ID password you can prevent anyone from accessing your iCloud data or using other services (such as iMessage or iTunes) from your missing device.
  2. Change the passwords for other internet accounts on your device. This could include email accounts, Facebook, or Twitter.
  3. Report your lost or stolen device to local law enforcement. Law enforcement might request the serial number of your device. Find your serial number:
    • On the original box or receipt
    • On My Support Profile (supportprofile.apple.com) if you registered your device with your Apple ID
  4. Report your lost or stolen device to your wireless carrier. Your carrier can disable the account, preventing phone calls, texts, and data use.

Find My iPhone is the only way that you can track or locate a lost or missing device. If Find My iPhone isn’t enabled on your device before it goes missing, there is no other Apple service that can find, track, or otherwise flag your device for you.

 

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × 2 =